Eleven Wildcats earn Brand award

Eleven Wayne State College seniors received the ninth annual NSIC Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award.

The honor, named for the late NCAA President Dr. Myles Brand, is bestowed to senior NSIC student-athletes who have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.75 or higher and are exhausting their eligibility and on track to graduate.

Wildcat athletes receiving the prestigious academic honor include volleyball players Bree Ackermann and Erin Gross, men’s basketball players Brian Goodwin, Matt Thomas and JJ Zumbrennen, Spencer Johnson, Adam Poldberg and Dalton Smith from baseball, Derek Lahm from men’s track and field and softball players Jordyn Breitbarth and Katelyn Wobken.

“I am truly excited to see the student-athletes in the NSIC continue to raise the bar each year as we continue to reach new record number of recipients of the Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award,” said Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Commissioner Erin Lind. “This is one of the highest honors a student-athlete in the NSIC can achieve and our student-athletes have shown a commitment and dedication to both academics and athletics. These are characteristics in which Dr. Myles Brand emphasized. I am extremely proud of all these student-athletes for their devotion to their universities, the NSIC and to their personal academic and athletic goals. I have no doubt these student-athletes will continue to achieve success in life well beyond the classroom and the competition venues.”

A record total 149 student athletes from the 16 institutions in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference will receive the award in its eighth year.  Each student athlete will be recognized by the NSIC with a certificate of achievement and a wrist watch.

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Wayne News Newsletter feed
Comment Here